Skwigly Online Animation Magazine Search

Ray Harryhausen Awards 2023 – New Logo and Call for Entries Launched

// News


The Ray and Diana Harryhausen Foundation have announced the 2023 edition of the Ray Harryhausen Awards, established in honour of the legendary master of stop-motion animation and godfather of VFX.

This will be the second edition of the awards, the first was held in 2022 online and saw Mad God director Phil Tippett awarded with Best Feature Film Animation as well as the Harryhausen Hall of Fame Award for his long career in VFX, feature films and animation. Short went to Only a Child by Simone Giampaolo, Commercial went to Save Ralph by Arch Model Studio, Television went to Scream Street by Factory, Student went to Absolution, Parsin by Jack Nop and Children’s Film went to Battle of Gastropoda by Kristian Harding.

This year also sees an incredible new Awards logo by designer Lars Seiffert. The competition is now accepting submissions under the following categories before the deadline of April 30th 2023:

  • Best Feature Film Animation
  • Best Short Film Animation
  • Best Student Film Animation
  • Best Children’s Film Animation
  • Harryhausen Hall of Fame Award

More information can be found at or you can submit your work on Filmfreeway

The awards will be held at the Cameo Cinema, Edinburgh on June 29th, 2023, followed by a 60th anniversary screening of Ray’s classic film Jason and the Argonauts.

Want a more specific search? Try our Advanced Search